Facts about the Crash Report MA PDF template
- 1 Facts about the Crash Report MA PDF template
- 2 What Is a Crash Report MA Used For?
- 3 Who Would Use a Crash Report MA?
- 4 When Should a Crash Report MA Be Used?
- 5 What Are the Consequences of Not Using a Crash Report MA?
- 6 How to Fill Out a Crash Report MA
- 6.1 Section A: Location of the Crash
- 6.2 Section B: Your Vehicle
- 6.3 Section C: Passengers
- 6.4 Section D: Other Involved Vehicles
- 6.5 Section E: Non-Motorists
- 6.6 Section F: Crash Conditions
- 6.7 Section G: Crash Diagram
- 6.8 Section H: Witnesses
- 6.9 Section I: Property Damage
- 6.10 Section J: Crash Description
- 6.11 Section K: Signature
- 7 Quick Questions
What Is a Crash Report MA Used For?
Massachusetts is one of many states that requires serious automobile crashes to be reported to its DMV. The DMV is the regulating body for all motor vehicles in the state, so crash records are kept with them. In most cases, the police at the scene will be responsible for filing a crash report with the DMV. This report will also play a large role in determining which individual was at fault for the accident, which could affect insurance payouts. That said, the DMV has nothing to do with your insurance company.
In certain circumstances, you might be required to file a report yourself. Sometimes, the state prefers to have a police report along with a report from each of the drivers. It helps to get everyone’s side of the story. You might also have to file a report if the police are unable to make their own report for some reason, a vehicle needed to be towed from the scene of the accident, or the police report will be delayed in its filing.
Who Would Use a Crash Report MA?
The most common entities who use crash reports in Massachusetts are law enforcement officials, drivers involved in crashes, and pedestrians involved in crashes. Any party who was part of the accident will be required to file a report.
When the driver of a vehicle involved in a crash was not the vehicle’s owner, the responsibility is on the owner of the vehicle to file the crash report. They must use the information and knowledge they’ve obtained about the crash to detail the report to the best of their ability.
When Should a Crash Report MA Be Used?
According to Massachusetts state law, drivers are required to file a crash report in the following circumstances:
- A person involved was killed
- A person involved was injured
- One individual’s property sustained at least $1,000 worth of damage
When you complete the report, you’re required to file a copy of it with the police department that has jurisdiction over the crash. Filing must be completed within 5 days after the crash occurs, unless the person lacks the capability to do so because they are incapacitated.
What Are the Consequences of Not Using a Crash Report MA?
If you’re involved in a crash that meets the disclosure requirements, and you fail to make your report within 5 days, the DMV has the right to suspend your license. Your license will remain suspended until you file the report. Depending on the circumstances, you may also need to pay a reinstatement fee for your license. You can find information on your reinstatement requirements through the Massachusetts government website.
How to Fill Out a Crash Report MA
You only need to fill out the sections of the form that are relevant to your crash. Where it’s appropriate, you should circle your answers. If the report is illegible, you’ll need to redo it.
Section A: Location of the Crash
Provide details about the location in which the crash occurred, including the city or town, the time and date, and the number of vehicles that were part of the collision. If the crash occurred at an intersection, you should complete Section A1; if not, complete Section A2.
Write out the official names of any landmarks, streets, and locations. If the street has a route number, you should use both the street name and the number. Try to be as precise as you can, giving enough information for people to pinpoint the exact location.
Section B: Your Vehicle
This is where you’ll fill out your license information, along with information about the vehicle being driven. You’ll need the make, model, year, and other identifying information. There are codes provided to indicate what caused the crash.
Section C: Passengers
This section is used to detail information about both you and your vehicle’s passengers when the crash occurred. The form provides codes that you’ll use to explain information about the occupants.
Section D: Other Involved Vehicles
You’ll need information about other vehicles and drivers who were involved. With multiple-vehicle crashes, you should attach a second report to this one, but only complete Section D.
Section E: Non-Motorists
If any non-motorists — like pedestrians or bicyclists — were involve, provide as much information as you can. When multiple non-motorist entities were involved, you should attach a second form and complete Section E alone.
Section F: Crash Conditions
You’re given codes. Indicate the one that corresponds to the weather and road conditions when the crash occurred.
Section G: Crash Diagram
Draw a rough sketch of how the crash happened. Your vehicle should be labeled Vehicle 1, while any other vehicles should be labeled Vehicle 2, Vehicle 3, etc.
Section H: Witnesses
If any bystanders saw the crash happen but were not directly involved, this is where you’ll list their personal and contact information.
Section I: Property Damage
This section is meant to categorize all property damage that didn’t occur to a vehicle. This might include the personal property of the motorists or public property, such as signs and buildings.
Section J: Crash Description
Beginning with the events prior to the crash, describe what happened in as much detail as possible. Include the movement of your vehicle and any other involved vehicles.
Section K: Signature
You’ll need to both print and sign your name. Then, indicate what day you completed your form.crash-report-ma